The Pursuit Of Excellence

I’m in pursuit of excellence,

Seeking out the best way,

Seeking to be all I can be

Every single day.

I’m in pursuit of a high mark;

A great calling I want to find,

And take hold of it with both hands;

I want to make it mine.

I’m chasing after a promise

My God gave me one day,

When He said He’d make me like Jesus,

In every single way.

So, I’m in pursuit of excellence,

With all that I can give,

Because excellence to me is Jesus,

And the life He gave me to live.

I want to be more yielding

To His gentle, merciful touch;

I want to be more obedient,

Because I love Him so much.

I want to let Him teach me

The way that I can share

His wonderful life with others,

By showing that I care.

I want to be more in His presence.

When I worship and praise His Name,

Then go out and show the world

His love is ever the same.

So, I’m in pursuit of excellence,

But it’s not a heavy thing,

Because I’ve no fear of punishment

Should I ever fail my King.

My excellent goal is a high one,

But to find it, I don’t have to fuss,

Because when I pursue excellence,

It’s always to be more like Jesus.

Leave a Reply

