To Number My Days – Poetry

Though we think it long,

Clocks!

Life is really brief,

Whether it be bitter or sweet.

Then after our lives,

An eternity we’ll live

And our blessed Creator we’ll meet.

The Passage of Time

Teach me, O God,

To number my days

As I walk before Your sight.

That from their brief span

I may learn to be wise;

Teach me to count them up right.

Time

I only have a short time

To live on this world

And tell others of You and Your ways.

Teach me, O God,

Not to put Your will off,

But to obey You as long as it’s “today.”

Slow Time in Wrist Watch on Dry Leaf

Help me, O God,

As I walk along,

To live in your grace and truth,

That I may become

Wise in Your ways,

And let You renew my strength to a youth’s.

Pocket watch, savonette-type. Italiano: Orolog...

I pray, O my God,

That should I fall,

You’d prompt me to quickly repent.

And I pray that You’ll help me

Turn others to You,

So it’s not straight to Hell that they’re sent.

Alternative version of image:Wooden hourglass ...

Life is too short

And time goes too fast

To waste any of my brief time.

Teach me, O Lord,

To number my days,

That I may more wisely spend mine.

English: Bible card, "Honor thy father an...

I repent, O Lord,

For the wasting of time

That I’ve been guilty in the past.

Teach me, I pray, been guilty in the past.

To better do Your will,

That before You my deeds will last.

English: A calendar like a clock

My life will soon end

And my work will be done,

And I’ll spend eternity with You.

Teach me, I ask,

To well count my days,

So I’ll never regret what I didn’t do.

Teach Me, O Lord

When the time is short

Before the end of my life

And my work is almost through,

Because I know You’ll have taught me

To count all my days,

I rejoice at an eternity to spend with You.

Psalm 90:12 (NIV)

Teach us to number our days, that we may gain a heart of wisdom.

“Our greatest fear shouldn’t be that we won’t succeed, but rather, that we’ll succeed at something that doesn’t matter!” (attributed to D. L. Moody)

One thought on “To Number My Days – Poetry

  1. Pingback: Time in a Small Bottle | Psalmslife.com

Leave a Reply

