Why I Write This Blog

Why do we do what we do?  How often do we look at our motivations for doing things?

I was asked by someone today what I did in 2011 to make the world a better place to live in.  This blog, and what I post in it, was part of my answer.

I write here to inform, educate, challenge presuppositions and entertain.  I look at things through the perspective of my worldview, and try to give you a small view of what I see and feel.  Sometimes, I put a microscope on a subject and look closely.  Other times, I work for a telescopic, big picture view.  And I will admit there are occasional times when my view feels to me more like the confusion of a kaleidoscope!

I write because for me, words are my passion, my reason for living.  They are, as some would say, my thing.  It wasn’t until this year that I finally realized what I wanted to be when I grew up — I wanted to be a writer.  To me, that is the coolest and most awesome job on the planet!

This discovery did not come to someone in their early adulthood years.  If you have read any number of my posts, you know I am a mother of 2 adult kids, and a grandmother of 2 1/3 young children.  (Yes, that was an announcement.  Our daughter told us at Christmas she is again pregnant, due in June.)  As someone well past my younger years, you would expect I would have had a clue sooner.  But life has a funny way of happening to people, and my early paths were not always smooth ones.

Chris Brady

I was urged write, to blog, this year by people who supported my efforts and encouraged me to do it.  I owe mentor Tony Tefel and fellow blogger, leadership guru and TEAM LIFE  co-founder Chris Brady a debt I cannot hope to ever repay.

I had one other answer to that question posed to me today about how I made the world a better place in 2011.  I made the world a better place by making me better.  Through what I learn from the books, CD’s and training events of TEAM LIFE, I become better. I do it because of a quote that has become my favorite.

When I was young and free my imagination had no limits, I dreamed of changing the world. As I grew older and wiser, I discovered the world would not change, so I shortened my sights somewhat and decided to change only my country. But it, too, seemed immovable. As I grew in my twilight years, in one desperate last attempt, I settled for changing only my family, those closest to me, but alas, they would have none of it. And now as I lay on my deathbed, I suddenly realized: If I had only changed myself first, then by example I would have changed my family. From their inspiration and encouragement, I would then have been able to better my country and, who knows, I may have even changed the world.~~ Found on the tomb of an 11th

Westminster Abbey

Westminster Abbey

century Anglican Bishop in Westminster Abbey

I invite you to join me in the journey of changing the world by changing ourselves.

Cathy

One thought on “Why I Write This Blog

Leave a Reply

