Empty Counsel

(For Job, who understood)

God, preserve me from empty counsel,

Let the speech I hear be from You.

English: Two people in a CCI (Co-Counselling I...

And keep the words I speak to others

Filled only with Your love and truth.

*

Let my counselors not be like those who preach

Without knowledge, like that of Job’s friends.

Fill my own words with thoughts straight from Your heart,

English: Two people in a CCI (Co-Counselling I...

So my own won’t go on without end.

*

Gentle their words, so that they will not cause

My heart to more deeply bleed.

Give me Your wisdom and discernment,

That I may help others in need.

*

Let them not judge where they hearts have not been,

And where their feet have not trod.                                        

Let me not judge, for I don’t want to try                                             Judge

To take the place of my God.

*

Keep me from them, I ask You, dear Lord,

Their faces I don’t want to see.

And soften my heart, that another won’t say,

“Keep also that one far from me!”

Leave a Reply

