These Boots Are (NOT) Made For Walking

I wrote this with the intent of publishing when the first measurable snow fell here.  It snowed last night. 
 
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Why do we women do such things to ourselves?  What is it about fashion that rules us so completely at times?

Boots

boots

I own 2 pair of boots.  The brown pair is wonderfully comfy.  They come to 1/3 way to my knees.  They have shear-ling linings, have  suede uppers and rubber soles.  They have a low heel, and tied with a hugely long shoe string ending in shear-ling pom-poms.  The habit of the shoe strings to tangle is the only thing I don’t like about them.  They are warm, soft and very welcome in the winter.  And they are totally, completely cute.

Boots!

not me

The black ones are not comfy.  They are tall, knee-high.  They have 2 inch heels.  The uppers and fronts of the legs are black patent leather.  The backs are stretchy, fastening with a zipper.  I cannot wear them in snow or ice, because they have no traction.  They rub on my ankles when I wear them, and my toes get pinched.  I can only wear them with skirts, leggings or stirrup pants.  They are completely impractical.

So why do I wear the black pair?  Because as uncomfortable as I am in them, they look totally cool on me.  They make me feel taller and stand up straighter.  They are incredibly fashionable, especially when I pair them with stirrup pants and a long tunic style sweater.  Essentially, when I wear them I know I am sacrificing comfort for fashion.  The irony is I bought both pair at the same store . . .

I will confess, I am not a fashionista.  I do not follow the latest styles, trends or what to

Lib in boots

wear.  I have never been wildly interested in clothes, except as something to wear to cover myself appropriately.  I am most comfortable in my jeans and a sweater.  I like sneakers.  When I dress up, I prefer pants.  My clothing choices tend toward comfort than style, though I am careful to wear colors that look good on me and patterns that don’t clash.  My shoes are generally purchased for size, practicality and comfort, rather than fashion.

Advertisement featuring "El Presidente&qu...

So what is it about my boots?  Why do I subject myself to the discomfort of wearing the black ones sometimes?  Dare I admit there is a fashionista in me yearning to come out?  Or is it just the shoe envy of someone who has to buy for size and not style?

I don’t suppose I will ever know.  I only know one thing: as uncomfortable as the black ones are, I just love them!  🙂

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

P.S. I am wearing the brown ones today!

Leave a comment