On Intimacy With Immensity, Parts 1 and 2

These poems reflect the place I was in my relationship with God at the time I wrote them.  The first was 10 years ago.  The second was 2010.  The difference was taking a class focused around Ed Piorek’s DVD series The Father Loves You .  It changed my perspective of Father God, my relationship with Him, and is based on Galatians 4:6,

Because you are sons, God has sent forth the Spirit of His Son into our hearts, crying, “Abba! Father!”

It is my prayer you find joy in the Father’s love!

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

             On Intimacy With Immensity 

 You are so big . . .

          Your power created the universe;

                   All the things I see, all I cannot.

          Your wisdom smoothly runs it

                   Without raising a sweat on Your brow.

          Your majesty is seen in it

                   But only as a dim reflection of Your glory.

And You want to be intimate

With small and insignificant me.

 *

 

You are so loving . . .

          You forgive the worst sinners

                    When they come to You in repentance.

          You came to give Yourself for us

                   While we were yet sinners all.

          You would have done it if all the world were perfect

                   Except for one poor, sinful soul.

And You want to pour out this love

On someone as undeserving as me.

 *

 

You are so powerful . . .

          All You have to do is think

                   And amazing things happen.

          You decided all the laws of the universe,

                   And go outside them as You choose.

          There is nothing that happens anywhere

                   That You don’t know of it before it occurs.

And You want to share Your power

Pouring it into a life as powerless as mine.

*

I can’t think of this too often,

          You know.

You are so immense.

          And I am so small.

You are so loving.

          And I am so insignificant.

You are so powerful.

          And I am so weak.

But for all our many differences,

          You demand intimacy between us.

And of all the things I’ve ever thought of,

          This is the most amazing one:

To have intimacy with Your immensity

           Is a thing my mind can never comprehend.
 

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Abba’s Lap

(On Intimacy With Immensity, Part II) 

 

Abba,

          The world is cold, and lonely, and hard.

                   It is unforgiving of my struggles, and faults, and failings.

Abba,

          Can I climb into Your lap for a while?

 

*

 

Abba,

          The world is big, and I am but small.

                   The world is frightening, and I am scared.

Abba,

          You are bigger than the big, scary world.

                   Can I climb into Your lap and be safe?

 

*

 

Abba,

          My heart is broken and hurting.

                   The world has cast it aside like a discarded  and unwanted

                    toy.

Abba,

          When I bring my heart to You, will You fix it for me?

 

*

 

Abba,

The world takes such joy, such delight in shredding my life, my

hopes,

my dreams like a small child would paper.

Abba,

          When I bring You the shattered pieces, can You, will You, fix

          them

                   and fix me?

*

 

Abba . . .

          Abba . . .

                   Abba . . .

*

Child.  Beloved Child.  Come here, Beloved Child.  Come up.

One thought on “On Intimacy With Immensity, Parts 1 and 2

  1. Happened upon this post. Love it–the second poem especially. No better (or more secure) place than snuggled in his immense arms of love. Blessings!

    Like

Leave a Reply

