Paradigm Shifting

You take the long view.

The Hubble Ultra Deep Field, is an image of a ...

          As for me, I only think I do.

You see the entire big picture.

          I can’t even see one small corner of its frame,

                   though sometimes I think I do.

You know every consequence of every action

                   and every chain of events that will follow after.

The Passage of Time

          I can’t even think beyond one or two of them

                             most of the time.

 *

You planned humanity’s future

The Creation of Adam is a fresco painted by Mi...

           before even our First Parents had ever sinned.

          Some days, I have trouble planning

                             what I’m serving my family for dinner.

You planned Israel’s deliverance from Egypt

                   many generations before any of them ever lived there.

Retouched versions of this picture from the ge...

          I have to make lists in advance to organize what to pack

                             when I go away for a weekend.

 *

You want me to see eternity.

Earth

          I’m sitting in physical time and space.

You want me to understand and contemplate forever.

          I live in the here and now.

You want me to live in your Rhema words and world.

The famous Greek word logos — “word, speech, a...

Logos

          I live in a Logos time and place.

 *

Like Nicodemus, to understand You, I must be born anew.

Christ talking with Nicodemus at night (Christ...          My paradigms must shift.

                   My vision must change.

 *

Only then will I fully understand

how it is to live

                   as a fully spiritual being

                             in a wholly physical existence.The way through the woods

*

(Written after a sermon on John 2:23 – 3:15.)

Leave a Reply

