Devotions With A Cat

CHASE

(In memory of Chase, an irrepressible Turkish Van)

*

 He entwines himself around my feet,

Wanting only to show his pleasure in me.

Soft and warm, yielding and affectionate,

His rumbles of pleasure fill the room.

Do I act at all like this with You?

Do I approach You just to be with You?

Do I approach You, as he does me,

Just to show You love and affection?

*

I reach down to stroke him,

And the rumbles re-double.

Twining himself around my legs

As he reacts to my responses to his overtures of love.

Do I act like that with You?

Looking just for a small touch of affection?

Expressing my pleasure in Your attention

With every fiber of my being?

*

I pick him up to pet him better,

And he settles happily in my lap.

Never struggling to keep his place,

He rests secure in my love and attention.

Am I like this with You?

Do I struggle to stay where I am with You?

Do I ever just rest with You,

And enjoy the time I spend with You?

*

A noise is heard from another place,

And he is off, inspecting it.

Leaving without sound or word,

As silently as he came.

Am I so distract able with You?

Do I so quickly run off

To my own pleasures and desires,

Forgetting completely what just happened here??

*

Oh, Lord, help me to learn the lessons

Of love and forgetfulness

My cat has to teach . . .

Red tabby
Leave a Reply

